Temple of Tabriz Saheb-ol-Amr was the royal mosque of King Tahmasp Safavid. In ancient era, this location was temple of Mithraism.
This mosque was destroyed in 1045 AH by army of fourth Sultan Morad and it was renovated after retreat of Ottomans. Then, it collapsed again in drastic earthquake in 1193 AH, and in 1208 it was rebuilt by Jafar- goli-khan Donboli known as Batmanglinj, son of Ahmad Khan.
In 1266 AH, Mirza Ali Akbar Khan, translator of Russia consulate, was a wealthy man and he did mirror decoration of some parts of monument and vestibule and their repair and he constructed the current yard and school and determined endowments for them.
This building has one dome and two minarets and their shapes are different from other mosques. Because of this, it is a unique mosque. From first Shah Tahmasp period, just two marble vaults have remained which have historical aspects. Next to one of these vaults, there was a marble inscription and on top of the other vault, “Al-jen” Sura has been written.
Nowadays, calligraphy and Quran museum has been set in Saheb-ol-Amr mosque. Tens of Quran, orisons, and relief of God’s speech which have been created during years exist in this place.
This relic has been recorded as one of the national works of Iran with registry number 4196 in 10th of Mehr, 1380 (2001).